AFC Leopards history of CECAFA glory

The year 2014 will mark the very first time that the CECAFA Nile basin club competition. The tournament will be held from May 20 to June 5 in Sudan, Teams from Republic of Congo and Egypt have been invited.

The glory years of AFC Leopards were the period from 1979 to 1984. That was when they won the national league three times in a row but even more impressive, Ingwe won the CECAFA club cup 5 times.

AFC at the CECAFA cup 1979

AFC at the CECAFA cup 1982

AFC in 1982

AFC at the CECAFA cup 1983

AFC in 1983 in Mombasa: Top: George Olubendi, Shadrack Oyando, Omar Shaban, Ben Musuku, Francis Kadenge Bottom: Peter Lichungu, Patrick Shilasi, Haggai Mirikau (RIP), Ainea Isabwa (RIP), Moses Mulamba


AFC Leopards at the CECAFA cup 1984

AFC at the 1984 final: Closest to the camera are Gerry Saurer, Abbas, Mulamba, Shabaan

AFC Leopards at the CECAFA cup 1997

Francis Oduor holding Jamhuri day cup


AFC Leopards website


Author: shabik

4 thoughts on “AFC Leopards history of CECAFA glory

  1. This is the high time for Leopard family to be strong and give sporting spirit for the good job the BOYS are doing “BRAVO BOYS” aim higher than that you have made us proud to be INGWE family

  2. Kudos to the Author, Indeed this is the best memory flash back. I remember the game AFC vs Mlandege Goals from DEO, Francis Oduor and Kayimba. When looking after cattle with my little small sanyo radio enjoying the commentaries from Salim Manga Ali.
    Great INGWE Go Go Go Go! Lets come out and support the the Lads,,,……

  3. I remember the good old days of Afc Leopards, Gor Mahia,Kisumu posta, Rivatex, Re-Union, Kenya Breweries kabula kubadilisha to Tusker na KCC eldoret, Nzioa Bungoma. Great times indeed! miss thos old gold days

Comments are closed.