Rhonex, Tirop and Cheruiyot brilliant in Stockolm

The trio of Kenyans: Rhonex Kipruto, Agnes Tirop and Timothy Cheruiyot were in sensational form as they beat strong fields to win at the 2019 Bauhaus Galan Diamond League meet in Stockholm Sweden.

Rhonex Kipruto gives Kenya hope in the 10,000m

It has been 18 years since a Kenyan won the 10,000m at the world athletics championships. The last Kenyan to win this event is Charles Kamathi who shocked Gebreselassie in 2001. But fast rising Rhonex Kipruto who was only two years old when Kamathi won that shock gold medal, had a brilliant run in Stockholm that gave Kenyan fans reasons to have optimism. He blew away a very strong field that included 2016 Olympic silver medalist Paul Chelimo of the USA and Olympic bronze medalist Hagos Gebrhiwet.

Kipruto gave a masterful display, setting a torrid pace. By the halfway mark of the race, he was already 50 metres ahead of most of the field. The only runner who tried to keep up the pace was Gebrhiwet. The Ethiopian stayed on Kipruto’s shoulder until there were 3 laps to go. At that point Kipruto shifted gears again, increasing the pace and Gebrhiwet started to gnash his teeth, showing that he was struggling. The gap between the two started to increase. By the end of the race, Kipruto was almost 50 metres ahead of Gebrhiwet and had overlapped almost everyone else. He won in 26:50.16 which is the fastest time in the world since 2017

With his brilliant display, the 19 year old Kipruto appears a strong candidate to win the 10,000m at the 2019 world championships. His main challenger will be the Ugandan Joshua Cheptegei who earlier this year, won the world cross country championships.

Race Video


1 Rhonex Kipruto  KEN 26:50.16
2 Hagos Gebrhiwet  ETH 27:01.02
3 Aron Kifle  ERI 27:27.68
4 Mogos Tuemay  ETH 27:34.36
5 Paul Chelimo  USA 27:43.89
6 Julien Wanders  SUI 27:44.36
7 Amos Kurgat  KEN 27:48.15
8 Kirubel Erassa  USA 27:52.75
9 Ali Kaya  TUR 27:53.39
10 Timothy Toroitich  UGA 28:06.87
11 Awet Habte  ERI 28:11.12
12 Charles Muneria  KEN 28:13.91
13 Soufiane Bouchikhi  BEL 28:20.97
14 Shadrack Kipchirchir  USA 28:21.26
15 Leonard Korir  USA 28:23.00
16 Juan Antonio Pérez  ESP 28:27.14
17 Peter Kiprotich  KEN 28:32.78
18 Amanal Petros  GER 28:42.59
19 Aras Kaya  TUR 28:49.21
20 Vincent Kipsang Rono  KEN 29:01.82
21 Robel Fsiha  SWE 29:15.45
22 Juan Luis Barrios  MEX 29:26.99
Gevin Kerich  KEN DNF
Isaac Kipsang  KEN DNF
Kelvin Kiptum  KEN DNF
Jemal Yimer Mekonnen  ETH DNF
Napoleon Solomon  SWE DNF

Agnes Tirop beats a strong field in the women’s 5000m

The biggest shock of the day came in the women’s 5000m. Agnes Tirop who in 2015, won the women’s senior cross country championship when only 19 years of age, is finally fulfilling her promise on the track. It was a very close race with the leading runners reaching the bell at the same time. Canadian Gabriela Stafford took the lead with 200 metres to go and appeared poised to snatch a shock victory. But Tirop responded, unleashing a strong kick at the final bend, passing Stafford. The shock of the day was Hellen Obiri who finished in 12th position. Obiri has been in superb form this season.

Race Video


1 Agnes Jebet Tirop  KEN 14:50.82 8
2 Fantu Worku  ETH 14:51.31 7
3 Lilian Kasait Rengeruk  KEN 14:51.34 6
4 Gabriela DeBues-Stafford  CAN 14:51.59 5
5 Caroline Chepkoech Kipkirui  KEN 14:52.05 4
6 Margaret Chelimo Kipkemboi  KEN 14:52.11 3
7 Eilish McColgan  GBR 14:52.40 2
8 Melissa Courtney  GBR 14:53.82 1
9 Yasemin Can  TUR 14:53.92
10 Gloriah Kite  KEN 14:56.50
11 Alina Reh  GER 15:04.10
12 Hellen Obiri  KEN 15:07.70
13 Anna Emilie Møller  DEN 15:22.69
Loice Chemnung  KEN DNF
Mary Kuria  KEN DNF
Liv Westphal  FRA DNF

Cheruiyot dismisses a strong field

Timothy Cheruiyot, who dominated the men’s 1500m in 2018, is once again showing the sensational form he displayed last season. Cheruiyot won the 1500m in Stockholm at a canter, finishing two seconds ahead of his closest challenger, Ayanleh Souleiman of Djibouti. Elijah Manangoi who won the opening Diamond League meet of 2019, inexplicably finished in 10th position, a good 13 seconds behind Cheruiyot.

Race Video


1 Timothy Cheruiyot  KEN 3:35.79 8
2 Ayanleh Souleiman  DJI 3:37.30 7
3 Jakob Ingebrigtsen  NOR 3:37.30 6
4 Bethwell Birgen  KEN 3:39.18 5
5 Samuel Tefera  ETH 3:40.19 4
6 Charles Cheboi Simotwo  KEN 3:40.65 3
7 Aman Wote  ETH 3:42.68 2
8 George Meitamei Manangoi  KEN 3:43.83 1
9 Henrik Ingebrigtsen  NOR 3:45.46
10 Elijah Motonei Manangoi  KEN 3:48.83
11 Elmar Engholm  SWE 3:50.12
Brahim Kaazouzi  MAR DNF
Back to Kenya Athletics Page


Author: riadha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.