Kiyeng, Manangoi, Kiptarus brilliant at Oslo Bislett games

Former steeplechase world champion, Hyvin Kiyeng, is proving to be the person to beat in the women’s 3000m steeplechase. After winning the Rome Golden gala, she was once again victorious at Oslo. But this time she had to fend off a strong challenge from American Emma Coburn who is also the Olympic champion.

Coburn led for much of the race before Kiyeng took over in the last lap. She tried to shake off Coburn. But the American made a spirited comeback after he last hurdle. But it was not enough to catch Kiyeng.  Daisy Chepkemei finished a creditable third ahead of Olympic silver medalist Courtney Frerichs of the USA.

It was a big win for Kiyeng. At the 2017 world championships, she lost to both Coburn and Freichs and ended up settling for bronze. The race was a disaster from an organization persspective as one of the barriers was set to high causing the runners to run the first two laps with a higher hurdle. In the process, Commonwealth games champion Aisha Praught ran into the barrier.

Race results

1 Hyvin Kiyeng  KEN 9:09.63 8
2 Emma Coburn  USA 9:09.70 7
3 Daisy Jepkemei  KEN 9:16.87 6
4 Courtney Frerichs  USA 9:20.84 5
5 Aisha Praught  JAM 9:23.33 4
6 Winfred Mutile Yavi  BRN 9:27.76 3
7 Karoline Bjerkeli Grøvdal  NOR 9:29.94 2
8 Purity Kirui  KEN 9:39.23 1
9 Rosie Clarke  GBR 9:42.80
10 Birtukan Adamu  ETH 9:58.48
Ann Gathoni  KEN DNF
Caroline Tuigong  KEN DNF

Race Video

Manangoi wins Oslo Mile

World champion, Elijah Manngoi shrugged off a dissapointing season to win the men’s mile albeit in a slowish time of 3:56.95. In the process, Manangoi had to fend off a late challenge from Sadik Mikhou who came back strongly in the final 100 metres.
It was welcome win for Manangoi, the current world champion. He had yet to win a race in the 2018 Diamond League, having finished second and third respectively.

Race Video

Race Results

1 Elijah Motonei Manangoi  KEN 3:56.95 8
2 Sadik Mikhou  BRN 3:57.10 7
3 Taresa Tolosa  ETH 3:57.92 6
4 Filip Ingebrigtsen  NOR 3:57.97 5
5 Younéss Essalhi  MAR 3:58.00 4
6 Henrik Ingebrigtsen  NOR 3:58.46 3
7 Ryan Gregson  AUS 3:58.47 2
8 Bethwell Birgen  KEN 3:59.10 1

Kiptarus wins 10,000m

Dominic Kiptarus, won the men’s 10,000m , a race that is rarely contested in the Diamond League

1 Dominic Chemut Kiptarus  KEN 28:05.34
2 Stewart McSweyn  AUS 28:05.37
3 Julien Wanders  SUI 28:07.15
4 Zouhair Talbi  MAR 28:31.73
5 Sondre Nordstad Moen  NOR 28:37.92
6 Marius Vedvik  NOR 29:13.27
7 Weldu Negash  NOR 29:21.23
Arne Gabius  GER DNF
Daniele Meucci  ITA DNF

Author: riadha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.